Blu-ray Buyer’s Guide – July 18

kong

This Tuesday, there’s only one release worth noting, but it’s a big one – literally! The king of the monsters comes to Blu-ray in a brand-new adventure, with a few exclusive editions.

Here’s my pick for June 18, 2017.

180342_frontKong: Skull Island
Warner Bros. / Legendary Pictures
Written by Dan Gilroy and Max Borenstein
Based on a story by John Gatins and Dan Gilroy
and characters created by Merian C. Cooper
and Edgar Wallace

Directed by Jordan Vogt-Roberts

I was surprised at how much I loved Kong: Skull Island. I have a special place in my heart for the original film as well as Peter Jackson’s superb (albeit overlong and overindulgent) remake. So I was skeptical of another version of King Kong.

Skull Island is a true monster movie – full of imaginative creatures and exotic locales. It’s similar but very different from the other versions. Where this Kong is definitely superior to Jackson’s is in the lack of dizzying and unnecessary “paw-view” shots. John C. Reilly provides some much-needed levity and a surprising amount of pathos. I loved the fact that the viewer can actually see Kong for most of the movie, and it doesn’t take an hour to getĀ there.

176562_frontBest Buy: SteelBook (4K/3D Blu-ray only)

180089_frontTarget: Lenticular cover and exclusive bonus content

4c1ca476-c27c-4164-b56f-7318ffa84c03_1.5714bcb46c799dbbd7b53938be97e7f4Walmart: Unknown (possible exclusive cover art)

My Pick: Target takes the banana this week (sorry for the pun…I couldn’t help myself). More bonus material always wins with me. Even though I don’t know exactly what Walmart’s version will entail, I got burned by Walmart last with with their release of The Fate of the Furious (they gave me a bad code for their bonus material, with no recourse). So I don’t feel the need to look into it too much.

Happy Watching!

Leave a Reply

